CATEGORY > Children

Enzymes from animal sources are used in making formula milk, is this milk halal to feed my child who has an allergy from drinking cow's milk ?


My son has an allergy with cow's milk, so I considered using formula milk. However, regarding formula milk i've been told the enzymes used to make the milk, could be bovine or porcine in origin but are filtered out of the final milk powder and is only used for manufacturing purposes. Would this be permissible ? Jazakhallah khair.


الجواب حامداً و مصلياً

In the scenario described, one may avoid the formula milk concerns raised by sufficing with mother's milk or alternatively try goat's milk etc. instead.

However, if the above approach is not possible or suitable for some reason, then in the case of genuine need and an absence of a halal alternative, one may use the formula milk mentioned.

And Allah know Best.

Answered by FCB Fatwa Department