CATEGORY > Food
What is the ruling on bovine gelatin derived from cow bone whereby the cow had not been slaughtered according to Islamic law ?
الجواب حامداً و مصلياً
In the scenario mentioned, the gelatin derived from the bone of such a cow is considered as halal according to the Hanafi school subject to the bone being dry before the gelatin is derived from it. It should be noted that others schools such as the Shafi school holds a contrary view.
A detailed Urdu fatwa endorsed by Shaykh Mufti Taqi is attached here: bovine bone fatwa
However, if a person of the Hanafi school wishes to exercise precaution and avoid the difference of opinion between the different schools and not use such gelatin then that is commendable but not a requirement.
And Allah knows best.
Answered by FCB Fatwa Department