CATEGORY > Food
Are bacon flavour crisps halal to eat, it says on the packet they are suitable for vegetarians ?
الجواب حامداً و مصلياً
In the scenario described, as the bacon flavour is used in the said product it is to be avoided, even though it states that the food item is suitable for vegetarians. This is because Muslims are instructed to regard the pig as absolutely prohibited and as something detestable and abhorrent, whereas consuming its flavour in a food item, would be contrary to holding it in such abhorrence.
و في الميحط البرهاني:334/9
...ولا يجوز بيع شعر الخنزير؛ لأن الخنزير عينه نجس بجميع أجزائه منع الشرع عن الانتفاع به إهانة لعينه واستقباحاً لذاته...
And Allah Knows Best
Answered by FCB Fatwa Department